About Our Chapter

2017 - 2018 Officers

Outstanding Jurist

In most years, the Texas Chapter of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers selects one judge from entire state to receive the Outstanding Jurist award. Below appears the list of exceptional judges who have received this honor.

  • Dennise Garcia - 2016
  • Not Awarded - 2015
  • Graham Quisenberry – 2014
  • Not Awarded – 2013
  • Judy Warne – 2012​
  • Not awarded – 2011
  • Doug Warne – 2010
  • Harriet O'Neill – 2009
  • Barbara Walther – 2008
  • Don Emerson – 2007
  • Frank Sullivan – 2006
  • Dean Rucker – 2005
  • Ann McClure – 2004
  • Tom Stansbury – 2003
  • Marilyn Abboussie – 2002

Chapter Activities

The Texas Chapter holds its Innovations-Breaking Boundaries in Custody Litigation conference annually. The Texas AAML Chapter and The State Bar of Texas have combined resources to present a new cutting-edge continuing legal education course addressing parent and child issues. Featuring speakers from Texas and around the nation.

The Chapter also holds it's Annual Dinner and Meeting (members and guests only), usually in August of each year during the State Bar's Advanced Family Law Seminar.

AAML Texas Bylaws

Membership Criteria

To be selected for membership in the Academy, a lawyer must have at least 10 years’ experience as a lawyer and have been board certified in family law for 5 years with at least 75% of his or her practice devoted to family (or “matrimonial”) law; must have substantial family law trial experience (with consideration give to the lawyer’s ability to settle cases without the necessity of trial). In addition, the peer and judicial recommendation aspect of the admissions process assures the Academy that prospective members demonstrate the highest ethical standards in their respective communities.